Update to V 1.0.3.0

This version introduces a totally new feature that can save your life in emergency situations or simply allows you to share your exciting trips with your friends or family members in real-time. We have posted a dedicated article introducing the new live-tracking feature.

Try it out immediately and let us know what you think, unlike other apps with similar functions it requires no registration or sign up.
Simply start a new trip, then tap the new live tracking icon, activate it and share the link with someone via email or social media.

Here is the changelog in short form:

  • NEW live tracking feature, share your location with others live.
  • Various minor bug fixes and improvements.

 

Introducing live tracking

Are you sometimes going on your trips alone? Did you ever think about what happened in an emergency situation, when you are not able to call for help and communicate your exact location anymore?

The new NaviComputer live tracking feature could save your life in such a situation.
When live tracking is activated, NaviComputer transmits your location frequently. You can share the tracking link with your friends or a family member so they can follow your trip and see where you are in real-time.

But beside from being a great safety gimmick it can also be helpful to meet people or simply to let others follow your exciting adventures.

And last but not least: NaviComputer live tracking can be used without sign up and the people with whom you share your trips don’t have to use a smartphone or a certain app. They can see your location on a map in any browser on any device.

Below we have put together some of the questions you might ask:

How to activate/deactivate live tracking?
Once you have started recording a trip you will see the “live” icon. By tapping this icon you get to another page where you can toggle live tracking on and off as well as share the live tracking link by copying it to the clipboard, emailing it or sharing it on social media.

What about privacy and how safe is my data?
There is really nothing to worry about. Your location is transmitted 100% anonymously. (Check the app capabilities in the Windows Phone Store, unlike other apps we do not retrieve your user identity, phone identity or any other personal data)
Only people with whom you share your trip’s unique live tracking link and its 64bit key can see where you are. And they can follow only this single trip, if you want to allow them to follow another trip you have to share that one again. Furthermore all trips older than 1 week are dropped from our database automatically and the link will not be valid anymore.

Does it need a data connection and how much data traffic does it cause?
Yes, a working data connection is of course required to transmit your location. Though the traffic is minimal. In our tests after 3 full days with live tracking activated the data volume used was still less than 1MB.

Does it shorten the battery life?
When live tracking is activated the power comsumption will naturally be slightly higher. But on our test device it was still less than 5% per hour with NaviComputer running in the background and live tracking activated, so a full day trip shouldn’t be a problem.

Feel free to post any additional questions or share your thoughts in the comments below.